Connor Thompson named RBC Community Award Recipient

Courtesy of the Manitoba Junior Hockey League

Connor Thompson named RBC Community Award Recipient

April 26, 2024

The Manitoba Junior Hockey League (MJHL) is pleased to announce Neepawa Titans forward, Connor Thompson, as the recipient of the 2023-24 RBC Community Award.

Earlier this season, the MJHL announced the 2023-24 RBC – MJHL Community Ambassador Team, comprised of one player from each MJHL team who displayed outstanding citizenship and sportsmanship both on and off the ice. RBC made a donation on behalf of each ambassador to a school in their local community.

At the conclusion of the 2023-24 season, Connor was selected as the recipient of the RBC Community Award which comes with a further donation from RBC in Connor’s name that will be directed to Neepawa Middle School.

“It is such an honour to be selected for this award,” said Thompson. “Neepawa has turned into a second home for me the past two years and has given me so much as a person and hockey player. Volunteering and giving back to the community was just a small way I could return the favour to such a great community and town that has supported me so much in my time there.”

Thomson shared that his favourite part about giving back in Neepawa were the relationships he made within the community. Some of the programs he gave back to included the Grab n Go Breakfast Program, Neepawa Minor Hockey, Boys Fit Club and Elementary Noon Hour Skating.

“Through all the volunteering and helping out within the community, I have made so many amazing and meaningful relationships that I hope to have and hold long past my time living in Neepawa,” Thompson finished.

“Connor represented the MJHL, the Titans, and the community of Neepawa with tremendous class over the two seasons he spent in the league,” said MJHL Director of Marketing & Partnerships, Erik Swar. “His commitment to giving back along with his efforts to better his community do not go unnoticed and we are proud to name Connor as the 2023-24 RBC Community Award winner. The MJHL congratulates Connor along with our 12 other ambassadors for their outstanding dedication to volunteerism in Manitoba.”


See less
All reactions:

You, Debra Kasprick, Shandi Eros and 29 others